Radio New Zealand

From one end of the world to another. Did my usual interview with the genial Bryan Crump for Radio NZ. About Holi, Hindus and Wendy Doniger.
Sorry Nacha-anna to disappear into my room after dosas. They were recording it live and didn’t want to sound sillier than I normally do.

Listen to the interview here.

Gay Rights for The Takeaway

Begins at 21:23: The battle over gay rights in India is in the courts and on the streets after the Indian Supreme Court refused to review a decision to restore the criminalization of gay sex. Shoba Narayan, a freelance journalist based in India, weighs in.

Listen to it here.

So they emailed….suddenly.
I told them that my friend, Vikram D. who is an openly gay journalist would be the better person to speak.
Called Vikram. He was in an auto, on his way to IIT to speak on this subject.
They needed it in half an hour. Which wasn’t possible for Vikram.
So connected Takeaway with Vikram by email and did my spiel.
Have so much to say on this topic.

On 29-Jan-2014, at 6:00 pm, E wrote:

Dear Shoba,

How are you? I’m a producer at WGBH radio with The Takeaway program. You were a super helpful contributor to our show last year: http://www.thetakeaway.org/story/307452-look-what-went-wrong-school-meals-india/

I just wanted to reach out to you as we’re very interested in this story concerning the Supreme Court ruling on the gay sex ban: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-25925990

Is this something that you are following and might be available to talk to us about? We’d just need 5-10 mins with you and we could tape something via SKYPE in the next hour, if possible?
It would be good to touch the culture of conservative India and how same-sex relationships are still considered taboo my many etc.

Sorry for the short notice…. If you could hit “reply all” when you’re able to respond, that would be great.

For back-up, we’re at WNYC studio tel: + 1 ] 4240.

Thanks,
\

Radio New Zealand

Every once in a while, Radio New Zealand calls me for Bryan Crump’s show, “Nights on Radio New Zealand.” It is a surreal experience, not the least because koels are cooing here and it is night there. I submit three topics and we discuss this, usually live. I don’t know how to listen to it but here is the link on Radio New Zealand.

Connecting the Dots

My friends have been goading me to do something that I keep talking about doing. A podcast. I’d like to do a weekly one called “Connecting the Dots,” which takes current news items and puts a unique spin on it. I tried telling Mint to let me do podcasts but that hasn’t gone anywhere. So here is a rudimentary version, sans technology or help from sound/garageband.

Radio New Zealand

Radio New Zealand and I had fixed up a time for a live-show a few weeks ago.  On the appointed day, I miscalculated the time difference.  So here I am, in Commercial Street, Bangalore, showing around friends who have just arrived from Singapore.  I haven’t seen them for years and there is a lot of hugging and “Oh, how much you have grown!”  My mobile phone rings and it is Robyn from New Zealand saying, “We are at Skype and you were supposed to.  Where are you?” So I sputter that I cannot be at Skype in two minutes and can we do the interview on my mobile phone.  So we have this interview as I stand on the steps of a shopping complex, feeling mortified that I’ve left my friends alone when they’ve just arrived and trying to talk sense to Bryan who is super-nice and calling from faraway NZ.  Next time, I have to do much better.

My first show here

http://www.radionz.co.nz/audio/remote-player?id=2512622

Radio New Zealand

I don’t know how they found me but I am now an overseas correspondent for a Radio show in New Zealand.  Below is the date of live broadcasts.  If anyone is in New Zealand, check them out.

From: Nights 

Subject: RNZ NIGHTS – 2012 OVERSEAS CORRESPONDENTS roster… Tuesday 8:40pm [NZT]

Kia Ora koutou Neil, Terri, Liat, Daniel, Rebecca, Kerri, Susana and Motoko and welcome to the NIGHTS team, Tamara, Ewan, Brendan, Shoba and Nida’.

First, thanks again for being our overseas correspondents. Bryan and I are thrilled to again be a part of an enthralling year of discussions and insights regarding each of your unique and significant corners of the global neighbourhood.

By the way, let me do the honours of introducing yourselves:

Moscow, Russia: Neil McGowan

 

http://my.opera.com/russiaexperience/blog/

Santiago, Chile: Terri Anderson

http://foundinchile.cl/

Jerusalem, Israel: Liat Collins

http://www.jpost.com/Authors/AuthorPage.aspx?id=47

Kampala, Uganda: Daniel Kalinaki

https://twitter.com/Kalinaki

Jakarta, Indonesia: Rebecca Henscheke

http://asiacalling.org/

Caracus, Venezuela: Tamara Pearson / Ewan Robertson

http://venezuelanalysis.com/

Ozark Mounatins, Arkansas, Midwest USA: Kerri Fivecoat-Campbell

http://livinglargeinourlittlehouse.com/

Algarve, Portugal: Brendan de Beer

http://www.theportugalnews.com/

Bangalore, India: Shoba Narayan

http://www.shobanarayan.com

Mexico City, Mexico: Susana Seijas

http://twitter.com/susanasmexico

Ramallah, Palestine: Nida’ Tuma Ibrahim

http://www.commongroundnews.org/index.php?lan=en

Tokyo, Japan: Motoko Kakubayashi

http://twitter.com/#!/momokiwi

As usual, we’ll be in touch about a week beforehand with a reminder for your report, but please confirm 3-4 topics (from hard news to cultural) by that Friday so we’re able to promote them over the weekend – send a brief outline on the issues as well as any links to articles for Bryan’s homework – also any photos/videos are most welcome to spruce up our facebook page.

If your own web presence isn’t correct above, please state what websites, blogs, twitters, etc, you’d prefer us to link to.

Below are your broadcast dates in the 2012 Overseas Correspondents roster – we are happy to pre-record an interview if necessary (which we already do with some of you due to timezone differences).

INVOICES – RNZ’s finance department now prefers an invoice for each session, or at least quarterly. Invoice template as below. Note that payment is by bank cheque due to the cost of international bank fees, so make sure you provide an address.

Any queries, please don’t hesitate to get in touch, otherwise we very much look forward to speaking with you all again soon.

Have a terrific day.

rockin’Robyn

 

RNZ NIGHTS…  2012 Overseas Correspondents roster

Tuesday, 24 January 2012

Russia – Neil McGowan

Tuesday, 31 January 2012

Chile – Terri Anderson

Tuesday, 7 February 2012

Israel – Liat Collins

Tuesday, 14 February 2012

Uganda – Daniel Kalinaki

Tuesday, 21 February 2012

Venezuela – Tamara Pearson/ Ewan Robertson

Tuesday, 28 February 2012

Mid-West USA – Kerri Five-Coat Campbell

Tuesday, 6 March 2012

Portugal – Brendan de Beer

Tuesday, 13 March 2012

India – Shoba Narayan

Tuesday, 20 March 2012

Mexico – Susana Seijas

Tuesday, 27 March 2012

Palestine – Nida’ Tuma Ibrahim

Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Japan – Motoko Kakubayashi

Tuesday, 10 April 2012

Russia – Neil McGowan

Tuesday, 17 April 2012

Chile – Terri Anderson

Tuesday, 24 April 2012

Israel – Liat Collins

Tuesday, 1 May 2012

Uganda – Daniel Kalinaki

Tuesday, 8 May 2012

Venezuela – Tamara Pearson/ Ewan Robertson

Tuesday, 15 May 2012

Mid-West USA – Kerri Five-Coat Campbell

Tuesday, 22 May 2012

Portugal – Brendan de Beer

Tuesday, 29 May 2012

India – Shoba Narayan

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

Mexico – Susana Seijas

Tuesday, 12 June 2012

Palestine – Nida’ Tuma Ibrahim

Tuesday, 19 June 2012

Japan – Motoko Kakubayashi

Tuesday, 26 June 2012

Russia – Neil McGowan

Tuesday, 3 July 2012

Chile – Terri Anderson

Tuesday, 10 July 2012

Israel – Liat Collins

Tuesday, 17 July 2012

Uganda – Daniel Kalinaki

Tuesday, 24 July 2012

Indonesia – Rebecca Henscheke

Tuesday, 31 July 2012

Venezuela – Tamara Pearson/ Ewan Robertson

Tuesday, 7 August 2012

Mid-West USA – Kerri Five-Coat Campbell

Tuesday, 14 August 2012

Portugal – Brendan de Beer

Tuesday, 21 August 2012

India – Shoba Narayan

Tuesday, 28 August 2012

Mexico – Susana Seijas

Tuesday, 4 September 2012

Palestine – Nida’ Tuma Ibrahim

Tuesday, 11 September 2012

Japan – Motoko Kakubayashi

Tuesday, 18 September 2012

Russia – Neil McGowan

Tuesday, 25 September 2012

Chile – Terri Anderson

Tuesday, 2 October 2012

Israel – Liat Collins

Tuesday, 9 October 2012

Uganda – Daniel Kalinaki

Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Indonesia – Rebecca Henscheke

Tuesday, 23 October 2012

Mid-West USA – Kerri Five-Coat Campbell

Tuesday, 30 October 2012

Portugal – Brendan de Beer

Tuesday, 6 November 2012

India – Shoba Narayan

Tuesday, 13 November 2012

Mexico – Susana Seijas

Tuesday, 20 November 2012

Palestine – Nida’ Tuma Ibrahim

Tuesday, 27 November 2012

Japan – Motoko Kakubayashi

Tuesday, 4 December 2012

Russia – Neil McGowan

Tuesday, 11 December 2012

Chile – Terri Anderson

Tuesday, 18 December 2012

Israel – Liat Collins

Tuesday, 25 December 2012

CHRISTMAS DAY

 

+++